Skip to main content

While the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions appoints the Chairman, our other members are appointed by the Board. They’re selected on the basis of their diversity of experience to help us achieve our mission.

What the Board does

The Board’s main responsibilities relate to:

The Board is also responsible for our strategic plan.
The plan sets out our vision for the future – how we can continue providing the protection and security our members deserve.
At the end of each year, the Board agrees our annual report and accounts, which sets out our progress and performance.

Meet the Board

Non-executive members

Kate Jones - Chair
Chris Cheetham
Emmy Labovitch
Nailesh Rambhai
Liz Woolman
David Atkinson
Jim Gallagher

Executive members

Katherine Easter, Interim Chief Executive Officer
Sara Protheroe, Chief Customer Officer
David Taylor, General Counsel

Committees that support the Board

To help with its work, the Board has set up a number of committees, including:

  • Investment Committee
  • Nomination Committee
  • Non-executive Committee
  • Reconsideration Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • Risk and Audit Committee